Anne, Lucy and Hermione

Ah, so here we are in September. My annotated Austens have moved from my desk to the basement bookshelves, and in their place beside the computer screen are my new study materials: Anne of Green Gables, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. That’s right: three children’s classics. Also, not coincidentally, my favourites. Well, among my favourites – there isn’t time for all the wonderful kids’ books I’d love to study, so I had to pick and choose. It was tough. But, on the advice of my prof, I went with a chronological variety: one book from the beginning of the 20th century, one from the middle, one from the end. Anne was published in 1908, Narnia in 1950, and HP in 1997, so they fit the bill. And what I’ll be looking at specifically is the portrayal of girls in these books: Anne, Lucy and Hermione. Can’t wait to start hanging out with them.

Leave a Reply

